Synesthesia

At times, while walking in the streets, it happens to me that I sense the events running in my eyes as if they were rhythmic patterns, music. Just like Blob, an Italian TV show, that reinterprets the television flow, my mind elaborates in real-time elements of movement in the hearing areas, attributing a rhythmic scheme to the casual happening of visual events. Synesthesia is a condition, non necessarily pathological, in which two or more sensorial experiences are associated to one another.

I would like to comment two well-known examples of works of art with which one can have amazing synesthetic audio-visual experiences.
The 3D video Monkey Drummer (2001) by Chris Cunningham shows us the music of Aphex Twin, enabling us to see drum’s each sounds, one by one.


Percussion instruments, (that perhaps flaunt physicality more than any other instrument) can become purely mental, and one single human being, the real musician, with the use of a drum machine can go beyond its own body through a mind-machine symbiosis. Something similar already occurred with the writing of a score, but an electronic written is more powerful, precise, and eventually, with the sampling becomes even hypertextual.

The second work of art is a digital animation that Alex Rutterford has carried out in 2002. It is an amazing video score that describes each sound and each minimum range of frequencies of Gantz Graf of the Autechre, literally allowing to see the music that looks like as if it is being generated by the images.

If you have never tried to imagine what happens while any possible God clears his voice before singing the Creation, Gantz Graf will surely give him a hand.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

About Fabrice de Nola

Fabrice de Nola is an Italian-Belgian artist. His research and practice focuses in the fields of information architecture and augmented reality integrated to painting, site-specific installations, and cultural heritage sites.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Synesthesia

  1. I always emailed this blog post page to all my friends, as if like to read it next
    my contacts will too.

  2. new websites says:

    Simply want to say your article is as amazing.

    The clarity to your publish is just nice and i can assume
    you’re an expert in this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to take hold of your
    feed to stay updated with approaching post. Thank you one
    million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  3. web design says:

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto
    a friend who has bedn conducting a little research on this.
    And he in fact bought mee dinner due to the fact that I found it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending some time tto
    discuss this issue here on your internet site.

  4. website says:

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the knowledge you provide here and
    can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick
    your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..

    Anyhow, great site!

  5. click search says:

    Thiis is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.

    Also, I have shared ypur website in my social
    networks!

  6. Kala says:

    Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this website, as i wish for enjoyment, as this this site conations truly
    nice funny information too.

  7. how website says:

    You’re so interesting! I do not suppose I have read something
    like that before. So wonderful to find somebody with original thoughts on this
    subject matter. Really.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is something that is required
    on the web, someone with a little originality!

  8. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.

    This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how
    much timee I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  9. Wonderful work! This is the kind of info that are meant to be shared across the net.
    Shame on the search engines ffor not positioning this put up higher!

    Coome on over aand consult with my site . Thanks =)

  10. vibes mobile says:

    each time i used to read smaller content that as well clear their motive,
    and that is also happening with tthis post which I am reading
    at this place.

Leave a Reply

